Young, Shawn Young

time to store the light....

Its cooling off here in vegas so I will be putting the light away until the dog days of summer are here again. How should I store the battery until I use again? It will probably be at least a few months. Cool room? Charged or not? Thanks for any input

Shawn
    "Im just going to explore a little bit..."

Dont make me be the bad guy...

Do I need a pass to ride this trail?

Bodhisattva
    Quote Originally Posted by Redmon
    Its cooling off here in vegas so I will be putting the light away until the dog days of summer are here again. How should I store the battery until I use again? It will probably be at least a few months. Cool room? Charged or not? Thanks for any input

Shawn
    Depends on the type of battery.

I'm no expert, but here's an excellent article on battery care courtesy of Gretna Bikes.

http://gretnabikes.com/Battery_Care.asp

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by Redmon
    Its cooling off here in vegas so I will be putting the light away until the dog days of summer are here again.
    I thought you could bike all year out there. That's it, I'm not moving out there when I retire!

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Cooling off in Vegas? Heck, I'm still riding here in Colorado

If you have Li-Ion batteries. run them to about 50% charge and store them in a cool basement. Careful with the fridge- you can end up getting condensation/water vapor in there. Just keep them in a cool place out of the sun's rays.

With Ni-MH, I'd guess you do the same thing but I'm not sure so do some checking online.

mtbr member
    Oct 2005
    Yeah, it's cooling off here in the northeast too. Rode on Saturday with a temperature of 29 degrees and wind chill in the teens. . .

Young, Shawn Young
    Quote Originally Posted by paulrad9
    I thought you could bike all year out there. That's it, I'm not moving out there when I retire!