mtbr member

Those of you machining

What are you using to machine your light heads/mounts/etc?

Lathe or Mill? Both?

What brands? What have you had good (and bad?) experiences with?

If you have examples of your work you can post or link to, that would be helpful too as I am fairly new to machining.

mtbr member
    May 2005
    I machine all my light related parts on a mill. Mostly on a Taiwanese copy of a Bridgeport mill called an ACER, though I have played around with a CNC when I get access. The ACER is an OK machine and has always worked fine. The digital readout quit once, but a $2 part from Radio Shack fixed that.

Here are threads on lights I have built.

New helmet light started

Next bar light

36-21.5-33

Micro helmet light

Another dual MC-E

5 cell 18650 holder

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Vancbiker View Post
    I machine all my light related parts on a mill. Mostly on a Taiwanese copy of a Bridgeport mill called an ACER, though I have played around with a CNC when I get access. The ACER is an OK machine and has always worked fine. The digital readout quit once, but a $2 part from Radio Shack fixed that.

Here are threads on lights I have built.

New helmet light started

Next bar light

36-21.5-33

Micro helmet light

Another dual MC-E

5 cell 18650 holder
    Thanks Vanc... just the kind of info I was after. I have already read some of your builds - I'm impressed. Look forward to reading the other threads.

mtbr member
    Over 70 year old Lathe and also a chinese Milling machine .

Lights too numerous to link but plenty to see on here with a little searching .

this is one of the friendliest forums ever and you will get plenty of tips and help if you need it .

mtbr member