Thread: SSC P7's

mtbr member
    Jan 2009

SSC P7's

Hi all

This might seem a newbie question (i am a newbie after all ), but why is everyone using MC-E's over P7's for their new gen light set ups?

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    limited driver options....well, atleast till the hipflex comes out

mtbr member
    Jan 2009
    oh ok then it seems i'm not the only one waiting then

i just wondered why nobody was using the maxFlex @ 1400ma (1/2 power for the P7)

mtbr member
    Sep 2006
    With a MCE you have more options for the wiring, like 4 serial or 2 serial / 2 parallel. For the MCE are also a lot more optics available, particularly small ones. It is only a pity the small optics don't work.

Maxflex is a step up driver. But with only one P7 you have an forward voltage of only 3.7V, the battery voltage needs to stay below that. So for example li-ion battery's won't work for this setup.

mtbr member
    Jan 2009
    superfast - thanks having looked at the MC-E and the P7, im not sure my soldering skills are up to the job , as far as the maxFlex goes i was think more in the line of multiple p7's more akin to Mr Trout's MC-E rig so the step up shouldnt be an issue

Personally i toying with the idea of trying to cram 2/3 P7's in to an "Easy DIY" type set up. just trying to figure out how to get rid of the heat.

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    Many issue between the two

Color/bin : More available options with the MCE
    Optics : More choices for MCE
    Wiring : P7 is parallel only. MCE can be wired any way you wish
    Drivers : Not many options for the P7. The P7 needs a high current.

I have been using the P7 anyway. Being the odd ball is a good thing.

The Kaidomain driver with good results so far.
    On full it puts out 2800 mA, so each diode is getting 700 mA.

A boom SS reflector can be easily modified to fit the P7. Just sand or grind away 2 to 3 mm from the base of the reflector and then enlarge the opening to about 9 mm.