mtbr member
    Nov 2013

Responsive all purpose bike light

Hi, I'm a third year student at University currently carrying out a project designing a responsive bicycle light, mainly aimed at mountain biking, but that is also versatile for use on the road.
    The concept is to have a mode that uses a light dependent resistor to alter the headlight intensity depending on the light conditions. The original idea was generated from mountain biking in the day, to illuminate dark patches on the trail caused by tree shadows. However the other intention is from cycling on roads with street lights, to turning onto an unlit path or trail, without the need to toggle between modes and the current should change accordingly.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated, and is vital to ensure I design something useful!
    Thanks,
    Mark

mtbr member
    USE sells a light that has a speed sensor to control output and there's another one that I can't remember that does something similar.

I think a light sensitive light is an interesting idea, if you can manage hysteresis and response time. It's also worth thinking about the fact that at speed you need to see 20-30ft minimum ahead of where you are, which is the point at which ambient light is being measured. So if you're going from a light area (street light lets say) into a dark one your eyes and light will be adjusted to the street light and you won't see anything in the darker area. Similarly, if you're riding at night with others, there's the risk that their lights playing over yours will turn it down.

I think we'd all be really keen to see what you come up with!

(on another electronics note, I think wireless remotes for bar and helmet lights is something that would really benefit from a smart engineer's attention )

Rep Power Infinity +2