mtbr member

OverTheHill Helmet Light

This light thing has got to me so much that I have bought a lathe now. This is my first attempt so I wanted to keep it simple. I had some XP-Gs on 10mm square MCPCB and some Ledil LXP Real Spot optics laying about (as you do) so decided to produce a new helmet light for myself.

I machined an integral mounting on the backplate to fit a helmet bracket that I bought from a bicycle retailer in the UK (Halfords). I also made up a battery case using plastic overflow pipe similar to a previous version but I incorporated a clicky on-off switch in the end to allow the light to be switched on and off.

The controller is a cheap DX 3V-18V (SKU26110) driving at 1A that I have used successfully in all of my lights to date. I have used this setup in several other lights and gives 350 lumens on paper and a run time of around 2 hours 15 minutes using one Trustfire 18650 2500 mAh cell.

I quite liked the way it turned out so I made some more for my friends. I may have a think about doing something similar, maybe a double using the Regina reflector in future.

Well, youíve got to keep busy havenít you?

recognize the slowness
    I like the batt holder and switch setup!

If I do a helmet version of Quazzle's engine, I want something simple and light like this for sure...

any specs on that part???

DOH...read more carefully and you list some parts. Is that a bike tube over for H2O proofing??
    "mountain biking and flyfishing, what more do you want?" - Yeah, I said it

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by jbflyfshr
    I like the batt holder and switch setup!

If I do a helmet version of Quazzle's engine, I want something simple and light like this for sure...

any specs on that part???

DOH...read more carefully and you list some parts. Is that a bike tube over for H2O proofing??