mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Noob battery pack question

I've ordered a Solarstorm X2, and having read about the hit-or-miss nature of the batteries that come with them was thinking about alternative batteries. I've got a bunch of fairly high capacity (2750mh) AA NiMh batteries already. Has anyone made a pack out of a 4x AA holder like this:
    Buy Battery Holders & Mounts Four cell AA PCB mount battery holder RS BATTERY HOLDER 4XAA (PCB) online from RS for next day delivery.

It has the nice option of keeping another set of batteries in the car for long rides.

Would I be able to solder the connection for the light directly to the battery pack? Would I be able to use other types of AA's as well?

I'm new to the electronics stuff, but have a tech savvy mate who will be helping me out with the assembly.

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    There is at least 100 threads about building a battery pack. Every week is opened a new one, and have been at least million times discussed over and over again. Try using the search button, scroll button on your mouse and left button on your mouse to open certain links to certain threads. I guarantee you that you won't be a noob but an expert in less than two hours.

mtbr member
    I've never used those battery holders so can't answer that question. Can't tell from the picture but I am guessing they are wired 4S? If so, that is only 4.8V using the AA NiMH. The Solarstorm X2 has a 7.4V nominal (8.4V fully charged) battery pack. You would need at least 6 of your AA NiMH batteries wired in series. I am guessing you would also need some type of protection circuit to prevent low voltage on the batteries (I assume NiMH is the same as Li-Ion in this regard). In my opinion you may be better off buying a spare Li-Ion battery pack that already has the same connector rather than build your own from NiMH. If you still want to build your own, I'd search the forums for NiMH battery packs to see if there are any threads on the topic.