mtbr member

Newby to DIY wants to make a couple 2S2P batteries

I just want to keep them simple.

Will be using these batteries

Thinking about using this battery holder for my helmet light. I'll be carrying it in a pack anyway.

Want to use 2 of these glued back to back in parallel for my bar light, so I have a cube form factor. I'll pick up a couple magic shine extender cable for connectors.

This whole electrical thing is foreign to me. I was a commercial brewer for 12 years and now I treat water for a living. Electricity doesn't mix with water, so I try to stay away from it. I have a solder iron and can solder to wires together, but don't know the proper wiring to make them be parallel. Also will the PCM's still work if I hook them together??

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, and treat me like I know nothing. I've tried to research it, but there is way too much information and I am very confused by it.

Would I be better off getting a 4 cell charger or just plugging in to a 7.4 volt charger I got with some of my lights?? It seems to me like a 4 cell charger will be more of a pain to use, but would keep the batteries healthier.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    You will find most people are hesitant to give advice on building your own battery packs - the results can be spectacular if you get it wrong.

For me, the fact that you are hesitant is a good sign

First the good news, what you are proposing for your helmet light should work. My preference would be to use a hobby charger, but with Panasonic batteries, a 7.4 v charger should be fine. I wouldn't take the cells out to charge them.

Sadly it is a bad idea to try connecting 2 2s1p packs together in the way you are considering. (1) you want to wire both pairs of parallel batteries together - see this thread. (2) the protection circuits will not work wired together like it appears you are thinking of. If you read MtbMcgyvers's post, you should start to understand why.