mtbr member
    Apr 2007

new light build, need opinions/options

Hello All,

I am just finishing up a new bike build and thought I should make a new light setup for it. Its been 4 years since I made a light and although my lights are still running strong I think its time for new tech. I am sure there has been alot of changes in the last 4 years in LED and circuits to run them.

Here is the light I am still using now.

my LED light build.

Sorry but the pics are gone now, but i'll try and look for them and repost them. My light currently is 6 P4's @ 1amp. I would like more light output with better run times if posible. I started playing around with P7 LED's when they first came out but never made a custom light for them.

Can you point me in the right direction for the following:

LED's
    optics/reflectors
    boost/buck pucks

Housing I will probably just make by hand, can't really design this yet until I know how many led's I am going to be running and what size optics. Would like to keep it as small and light as possible. Battery I would like to use my current one which is 14.8v 4400mah

http://www.all-battery.com/li-ion186...bareleads.aspx

Thanks,
    Brent

mtbr member
    what sort of light (bar vs. helmet) do you want? Will you be upgrading an existing housing or making a new one? How bright vs. how long a runtime? Do you prefer floody or super spotty lights? Info like that will help people guide you better.

Then there are always all the build threads posted up here, which should give you a good range of ideas and opinions

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by mattthemuppet
    what sort of light (bar vs. helmet) do you want? Will you be upgrading an existing housing or making a new one? How bright vs. how long a runtime? Do you prefer floody or super spotty lights? Info like that will help people guide you better.

Then there are always all the build threads posted up here, which should give you a good range of ideas and opinions