Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member

New question here. Needing Expert Advice with a 4-cell 2P2S build

Hi guys,

Iím needing some expert opinions here for a build. I'm a newb so I need to pick your brains.
    I plan to build my own 4-cell 2P2S battery pack using aftermarket 18650 so I can charge them individually.

Since my
    Review of Ebay: 1800 Lumen CREE XML T6 LED Bicycle HeadLight Lamp last year

This light now quits at around 35mins (high) after an overnight charge. After a year of moderate use the battery capacity is only functioning at 20%.

Build Specs

Charger to be used: SYSMAX-Ind-Intellicharge

Battery option A: Xtar protected 3100mAh 3.7v

Option B: Samsung Unprotected 2600mAh

Battery Holder type:

Configuration Wiring 2P2S:

Questions:

1. For the new pack: If I wire in the protection board from the OLD pack can I use Protected cells in the holders?

2. Will this Ďdoubleí protection cause undesirable outcomes?

3. If I use my individual cell charger can I Omit the old protection board and use
    UNprotected (and Protected) cells directly?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Dec 2009
    The picture of the configuration wiring might be wrong! The connecting wire in the middle should not be there. Or maybe it has something to do with balanced charging of the battery pack ?
    Last edited by Infinity123; 12-17-2012 at 12:56 PM.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Infinity123 View Post
    The picture of the configuration wiring might be wrong! The connecting wire in the middle should not be there. Or maybe it has something to do with balanced charging of the battery pack ?
    Wrong! Always wire cells in parallel first then in series, so the two parallel cells act as one single

mtbr member
    see post #9 in this thread.....LINK

the battery holders will not hold protected batteries .

these are good batteries, i have tested them ... http://www.solarforceflashlight-sales.com
    ...Scun.thorpe, UK

No talent hack
    Nov 2010