mtbr member
    Nov 2007

Need advice on light placement - Betty + other

I'm extremely new to this night riding business, but the intention will be to tackle some fairly technical terrain. I'll be wanting a fair bit of light, so my first move was to pick up a Betty 6.

The initial test ride with it mounted as a helmet light was impressive, but I found my aim of the light tended to bob up and down so the light on the foreground seemed like it was flickering. I presume the answer is to move towards a classic bar mount and helmet mount twin light solution.

I'm aware that as a novice to all this, my observations may be way off mark and... I will be looking again at my helmet mount fitting anyway. What I want to know, is how much I should expect from using a single light and whether my single light setup is best on the bars or helmet. Next question (for a UK-based rider) is what light would complement my Betty. There is an obvious answer to back up the Betty with another light from Lupine, but I'd be pleased to hear about good options that are less of a financial stretch...

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I keep my Betty on the bar and a Wilma on the helmet- works really well. I hear Lupine may have even more offerings next year. In my opinion, you should start looking at good helmet lights and there are SO many great options starting at $200.

mtbr member
    Oct 2007