mtbr member
    Apr 2007

Maxx-D led and battery upgrade

Hi all,

My mk.1 Maxx-D is showing its age now. The battery only lasts ~60mins. Plus 960 lumens is fine for a solo night ride but means I'm riding in my own shadow as others have 1200 lumens+

I want to try and upgrade the leds to XML at the same time as replacing the internal battery. Has anyone done this?

I've seen Troutie's Vision 4 upgrade so I'm hoping the Maxx-D upgrade will be very similar (unless there's a 4 up XML star I'm not aware of).

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    Do you happen to know how many cells the internal battery contains? I have no experience with this light, but I'm curious what all would have to be replaced for your planned XM-L upgrade.

According to their website, the Mk2 (960 lumen) version of the light had Seoul P4's - which have a max current rating of 1A. I'm guessing there's only room for 3or 4 18650 cells in that housing - so there's likely a boost driver on board? Check your charger to see what the output voltage is - 12.6 would verify a 3 cell configuration, 16.8V would mean a 4 cell pack. Lower output - 4.2 or 8.4 would indicate something interesting going on with the LED and driver configuration.

Until you tear into it, you won't know for sure exactly what you have to replace, but I don't think the included driver is going to be suitable for XM-L's.

4-up XPG2's @ 1A would get you about 1200 lumen output though, and wouldn't require near as much part replacement.

Just a thought.

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    Thanks for the advice - very useful.

I'm assuming 3 x 18650 inside the light body but will find out soon enough. Good tip using the charger to check!

I was planning to replace the driver too (probably aim for 2000lm in total) but you make a very good point re: the XPG option. I'll have a look tonight but I presume 4 up XPG stars are still available?

Need to figure out how the smart port is wired up too...

mtbr member