mtbr member

LED intensity has decreased

Hey Guys,
    Hope somebody can help here.
    I made my own triple leds's a about 5 months ago, the first one I used Cree P4's.
    The second light I used Cree Q2's.
    check out my original thread here Another homemade triple Cree
    OK now to my problem, you will see from the beam shots in the original thread the Cree Q2's are a lot brighter than the P4's.
    I have been using the Q2 light exclusively for the last 4 months and the light output seems to be decreasing.
    I just bought a new battery pack and wired it up to my lights, so armed with two battery packs I am able to run both lights side by side. The Q2 light is definitely not even as bright as my P4 light.
    Do led's degrade over time?
    Why would the output of the light be decreasing.
    Maybe the leds are degrading due to heat?
    I know you guys will have some answers for me

Regards

Peter

Master of None
    As LEDs age the phosphor and the epoxy lens degrade. Overheating the LED will cause this to occur MUCH faster. This will decrease the light output, maybe that's what happened to you.

mtbr member
    I think you have a heat problem. I read through your initial post that you linked and checked out all of the pictures. I sounds like you made the heatsink only 10mm thick for the second Q2 light, and you do not have any kind of thermal pathway from the heatsink to the housing. Also, you say the housing takes a while to get warm during use. All of these things tell me that the heatsink inside and the LEDs are getting very hot, and the heat is not being disipated efficiently through the housing.

I would try the following. Turn on the light for like 10 to 20 minutes. Then turn the light off and quickly take off the back cap so you can see how hot the heatsink is. I have a hunch that it will very hot in there!

Good luck,
    Mark

Spanish biker
    Quote Originally Posted by bikeny