mtbr member

Jonny 5 mk1 diy light (1800 lm max)

Jonny 5 mk1 diy light (1800 lm max)-20052012560.jpgOk im new to this so go easy, I have designed and created my own bike lights with a budget of 100 which i had no change from.

It is a two LED design with one spot lens and one wide angle lens. On paper the max lumens is 1800 i have no idea how to test this but it is pretty bright (couple of blind spots after testing have been experienced).

Right time for a little bit of detail and pictures.
    Jonny 5 mk1 diy light (1800 lm max)-light1.jpg

This is a picture of all the components lined up ready for assembly. The parts list is as follows:-

5- Mode LED Driver for Cree MC-E/SSC P7 Emitters 7.4V

SSC P7 LED Light Lamp Bulb White 900 Lumens 10W DIY 3.6V X2

Black round ON / OFF rocker switch + waterproof cover

Magicshine 1m Extension Cable for MJ808E MJ816 MJ872

Magicshine UK Charger for 900 and 1400 lumen light

Magicshine 4PCS 18650 lithium battery cell MJ828

Wide angle lens for P7 LED X1, Spot beam lens for P7 LED x1 (From Germany)

The bits are all pretty easy to get, mostly of ebay but the lenses did provide a challenge to source and i will try and find the website that i purchased them from but no promises. The build is also pretty simple, i will leave out the description on how the body was made as it was designed by a co maker of the light and not every one here will have access to certain machinery. But i will say it is aluminium sheet metal folded to the forms you see in picture 1. The lenses are held in place with a retaining plate followed by the LEDs with another retaining plate/heatsink.

Jonny 5 mk1 diy light (1800 lm max)-20052012558.jpg

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20052012560.jpg 
Views:	1042 
Size:	92.3 KB 
ID:	701737