PRETENDURO

Inline switch ideas?

I am getting tired of having to tear down my brightest homebrew lighting setups due to crappy-assed switches failing. I have decided that an inline switch, even if they’re just as delicate as the non-inline ones, will be easier to replace. Any suggestions as to which weatherproof SPST and DPDT setups are available that people have tested out? I know, I know, I am totally 1900s old school going with mechanical non-momentary non-microcontroller setups, but I like SIMPLICITY.

The lights I have been making since 2007 I have been using for commuting setups, so basically seeing several hundreds of on/off cycles per year (multiple on/off cycles per ride). I need something that will LAST, short of just deciding to use my battery connections as a “switch”. I am open to any ideas you all may have.

Thanks!
    QUOTE from MTBR.COM: You have given Brewtality too much Reputation in the last 24 hours, try again later.

www.hahntronix.com
    I am getting tired of having to tear down my brightest homebrew lighting setups due to crappy-assed switches failing.
    How are your switches failing? Do they mechanically break? Or are the contacts burning out (usually easy to spot if you take the switch completely apart)? A switch rated for a certain AC current will typically fail at a much lower DC current (the AC current doesn't sustain an arc between the contacts the way a DC current will).

If your switches are failing due to burned out contacts, you might want to consider getting switches rated for a much higher current. Look for switches that have a DC current rating that will handle the load you are switching. It might be a good idea to use a switch with at least a 2x higher voltage rating than your battery pack, since you are probably switching an inductive load (your LED driver).