Big "T"
    Nov 2004

How to: build a portable charging station?

I travel to and provide pit support for a lot of 12 & 24 hour races. I would like to build a portable charging station. Something I can keep in the pit tent. I travel with a full size truck, so hauling a bulky or heavy item is no problem. I DO NOT want to use a gas powered generator. Too loud, too much hassle. My thought is to use a few automotive batteries or a deep cycle battery and an DC to AC power inverter.

I would like to put something together that will allow me to use my quick chargers (I use Nite Rider HID Systems). I would need to be able to completely charge 6 batteries over a 12-15 hour period, two batteries at a time.

I'd also like to use it for lighting my pit tent, using a couple of standard DC low wattage florescent bulbs.

I'm a novice at this kind of thing. I'm hoping somebody out there has some good advice or can point me in the right direction.

Not dead yet, just playin
    Quote Originally Posted by Scottytheoneandonly
    I travel to and provide pit support for a lot of 12 & 24 hour races. I would like to build a portable charging station. Something I can keep in the pit tent. I travel with a full size truck, so hauling a bulky or heavy item is no problem. I DO NOT want to use a gas powered generator. Too loud, too much hassle. My thought is to use a few automotive batteries or a deep cycle battery and an DC to AC power inverter.

I would like to put something together that will allow me to use my quick chargers (I use Nite Rider HID Systems). I would need to be able to completely charge 6 batteries over a 12-15 hour period, two batteries at a time.

I'd also like to use it for lighting my pit tent, using a couple of standard DC low wattage florescent bulbs.

I'm a novice at this kind of thing. I'm hoping somebody out there has some good advice or can point me in the right direction.
    One of these is absolutely what you need: http://www.hondapowerequipment.com/gensup.asp