mtbr member
    May 2010

hi everyoen! please help me build an led bike light! thank you

hi everyone i am new to cpd, but i have been reading some threads and this will be my first post.

-first off a little about me:
    i am very interested in the physics of high powered led flashlights and was wondering if all you pros out there can enlighten me.
    -i have an obsession with flashlights
    -i bought a bunch on DX and KD and now have an armory full of one.
    -somewhere along the road, i got interested in building my own flashlight, but i have zero experience with all of these dealios with drivers and resistors and all that fun stuff in flashlights.

well down to my point:

i was wondering if anyone could assist me in doing so.
    to start off, i have around 150-200 dollars to spend and i am interested in building either a triple part bike light (two leds on the sides for wide general lighting, and the middle part an led that will throw far, but still have decent light).

i was looking at Mr. ACHESALOT's manual in building my own flashlight
    http://www.bikeled.org/

and came up with the decision of
    |MC-E|CREE XP-E R5? OR R4|MC-3|
    or
    |P7|CREE XP-E R5? OR R4|P7|

mr. achesalot
    talks about the 3021 buck driver and how it delivers constant 1 amp to the leds. my question is, the P7 has max efficiency at 2.8 amps, so i was wondering if there was a type of driver i could use.

i also heard the term "direct-drive" on dealextreme threads and was interested how that works with flashlights as well.

i apologize if i butchered any the LED/flashlight jargon, please forgive me as i am a newbie.
    i certainly appreciate any input

chubba

mtbr member
    Jul 2005
    Off the top of my head...

IIRC...the Troutie 7up was on sale in your price range from cutter.au

Complete kit that will smoke anything I could build.