Professional Boat Guy

First light build

Picked up a set of Light and motion dual logic and a solo. Both in working order but halogens. Looking to the light and motion housing and mounting brackets. I am currently running a Hope Vision One LED Adventure as a helmet mount. At 240 Lumens it does the job, but I am always looking for another project.

Some questions I have are:

1) What are some good sources for parts, LED's, Drivers, etc...

2) Would these plastic housing be a good choice or do I need to look elsewhere?

3) The Solo has uses a 7.2V battery pack and the Dual uses a 10.8V. Can I build a good light and still utilize these batteries and chargers? Or do I need to build a new battery to better support my project?

4) Any special tools needed?

I am new to the LED game and do not have too much knowledge on the drivers and what to buy. Any advice would help.

Thanks

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    Taskled.com for drivers

ledsupply.com is where I have gotten led's and some lenses from.

radio shack for connectors and such.

I am in the middle of my first build as well but the above seem competitively priced and the customer support from the first two was outstanding!
    Sometimes your the windshield, other times just the bug. That's life. (c:
    Mountain Biking Apparel

mtbr member
    May 2005
    Plastic does not work well for LED housings. You need to conduct the heat from the LED to the air. Aluminum or copper are typically used.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by btalley
    1) What are some good sources for parts, LED's, Drivers, etc...
    Ditto Taskled, fantastic drivers and great guy behind them

2) Would these plastic housing be a good choice or do I need to look elsewhere?
    Plastic = poo. You need metal to dissipate the heat from the LEDs. More heat = less light.