Thread: Exposure lights

Exactly 1/2 of 2-Epic
    Aug 2005

Exposure lights

Anyone have any experience with these? I'm especially curious about light quality at the 16 hour burn rate of the enduro model. Super lightweight and no cables/external batteries. Nice.

http://www.exposurelights.com/exposure_spec.htm

Gone riding
    Jan 2004
    I have no personal experience with the Exposure, but there are plenty of threads about them here on MTBR, as well as other MTB related sites on the net.

In short from what I have read and heard they're not a bad light, although they do suffer a little be being a little too narrow in their beam width, which a lot of LED lights suffer from too. Some of the very first models did suffer from a little bit flickering, but this was fixed very quickly.

Their 06 product has gone some way to improve the beam width issue by using two different optics for each LED. I'm yet to see beam shots or hear anyone who can confirm if this has made a positive change.

As for light output, I’m led to believe that they are using two 5 watt LED’s, but they’re not run to the full five watts. They are bright and do the job, but there are many other manufacturers with much brighter LED solutions, although runtime is sacrificed.

Personally I’d rather not have the battery pack incorporated into the light. Fair enough with the exposure it’s a great idea due to the long runtime, but I’d still rather have a light that I can just swap the battery pack over and keep on riding with, rather then having to take the whole light off the bike and charge the battery pack back up as a full unit.

Some 06 product photos:
    Yes!! Interbike Lighting

I would also have a serious look at some of the other LED lighting solutions available before making a decision, as there are some great high output LED lights out there:

- Nightlightning Endurenz
    - Lupine Wilma
    - DiNotte
    - Cateye Double Shot and Triple Shot
    - Solid Lights

Cheers, Dave.