Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Dual XM-L build. What's the best way to do this?

Noob here who wants to build a dual beam lite using two XM-Ls.
    What is the best way to wire and drive them?
    Series or parallel?
    Single or two drivers?
    Would like to be able to control them separately (switch either one off/on) but this isn't a deal-breaker.

I have a couple of these linear drivers laying around that are nice and small:
    https://illuminationsupply.com/8xamc...a2624baa697c44
    I like that they can be driven at low voltage so battery pack can be lighter but don't know how they would work in this configuration.

Anyway, open to ideas
    Democracy is two wolves and a sheep voting on what's for dinner.
    Liberty is a well armed sheep, contesting the vote.

mtbr member
    lighter battery pack?? only if your cycling round the block!
    how long do you ride for, you may end up going 5parallel or 6 parallel
    parallel is good, no balancing required
    i would use both drivers with individual switches to control them
    then you have the option of just 1 light or 2
    ..........cheaper drivers at fasttech.com
    ...Scun.thorpe, UK

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by HEY HEY ITS HENDO View Post
    lighter battery pack?? only if your cycling round the block!
    how long do you ride for, you may end up going 5parallel or 6 parallel
    parallel is good, no balancing required
    i would use both drivers with individual switches to control them
    then you have the option of just 1 light or 2
    ..........cheaper drivers at fasttech.com
    Lighter because I only need a single cell, voltage wise. Every cell after that is more run time.
    If my driver requires, say 14.8V, I need four cells to add any run time.
    I have that driver pushing a single XM-L with a 1S3P that should get over 3 hrs on high.