Anytime. Anywhere.

DIY, how difficult, $$?

I have an old BLT Firefly with a 15 watt bulb and a big, heavy 6v 8.5amp/hr lead acid battery.

I have been considering getting a new light for a few years now but have been waiting for LED's to catch up to HID's which seems to have happened now with DiNotte and Hope.

How difficult and expensive would it be to build something comparable to the DiNotte 600?

Is there a faq that explains everyhing simply?

I am not very electronically inclined and don't have access to a machine shop. I have a dremel and can follow directions though.

Would I be better off just buying a DiNotte or Hope?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    I got some bad ideas in my head.

Spanish biker
    Hi, to have a Here

Greetings - Saludos

msxtr
    Warning!!! my english is very very bad, sorry.

Easy DIY led light1
    Easy DIY led light2

The Beast!!!

Singletrack Daydreamer
    It's easy for a guy who likes puttering around with electronics and working on projects to say it's cheap and easy to homebrew, but it's not as cheap as you might wish, but probably not quite as difficult as you might think.

Currently, Cutter has a homebrew kit to replace a MR-11 bulb with a 3 Cree LED set up. If you use Q5 LEDs and a fatman puck, I think it comes in right around $100 + shipping from Oz. If you upgrade LEDs, it can go up by $10 or more, but still, complete project cost should be in the neighborhood of $100-150, but you'll have a light that should blow most HIDs away for overall brightness. You'll also gain the flexibility to dim, from 3w to 12w, which dramatically extends battery life.

Anytime. Anywhere.
    I have been reading the forums and understand that an aluminum housing is good to dissipate heat and I have 2. I have a 6v sla battery that I can use and can upgrade this later. The Cutter kit sounds like a good way to get what I'm looking for.

How hard will it be to install the cutter kit?

Do I need a heat sink?