mtbr member

Dinotte 200L, Exposure Joystick MaxX 2, or Nitrider Minewt.X2 for helment light <$200

I know there are much better, brighter lights out there, but I have narrowed it down to these lights for my new helmet light. I night ride off-road only about 1x/wk at local singletrack trails in dark forest on way home from work in Portland, Oregon. Trail system is short, so usually do a few loops for a nice 1hr ride. I am coming off of a Niterider 15w halogen light which I've been using for the last 5 yrs, that finally crapped out on me.

Any suggestions only between the lights mentioned?

Thanks,

JG
    Ride On!

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    you should check out mbr member scar's amoeba lights. go to the classified's light section.

he has a 2 x cree q5 model that weighs 150g and doubles the light output on all the lights you have listed here. simple on/off and you get 3 hrs run/charge time.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    I have a Dinotte 200L-AAS that I bought for commuting. I have it helmet mounted and I have been going on offroad night rides lately. I am really impressed with it for the money. It kicks the piss out of the Nite Rider MiNewts I've seen on these rides.

Having the AA battery version makes it really easy to pack along a spare set. When I bought the 200L I ordered it without batteries and charger because I could get better ones elsewhere. I went with Sanyo 2700mAh batteries and a LaCrosse charger (which comes with 4 AA and 4 AAA batteries).

I'm looking at options for handlebar mount lights now. The helmet mount is close to your eyes that no shadows are visible.

mtbr member
    Thanks for the feedback Tweezak.

Is your Dinotte 200L set-up without wires or is the headlamp all self contained like the Exposure lights?
    Ride On!

mtbr member
    Jgusta,