Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Custom P7 Light Build (Photos)

2K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  HuffyPuffy 
#1 ·
Just about finished my custom light build, so thought some of you may be interested to see it.

I'll start off with saying that this is my first build and I'm not an engineer ;-)

Design around a SCC P7 with 52mm DX P7 Reflector, access if via a removal rear section.

P7 will be mounted on to a heatsink in the middle. Driver boards on the reverse.

60mm aluminium with 5mm walls.

End cap welded in place. (this will be machined smooth)

Front and back sections test fit and testing mount.

P7 Mounted to the heatsink / bulkhead.

Heatsink / bulkhead mounted in the main body and driver installed for testing. (Boards will be secured to the reverse of the heatsink).

Main body with heatsink / bulkhead removed - painted.

End cap - painted but not cut / polished. The hole is one of two which keep both parts together, it is also used to mount the mount bracket.

Assembled

Mounted

Not got any 'action shots' yet, currently waiting on some new cells.

See less See more
#2 ·
Thanks for sharing. Very nice work there.:thumbsup:

The 52 mm reflectors sometimes are a little spotty. Some people really like that. Some people prefer floody light.

A 35 mm reflector can be either depending on which is used, plus allows for a slightly smaller build.

Nice welding skills there. Your fit and finish looks first rate.

Hope to see more lights and beam shots.

Welcome to the arms race and great first post.:D

#3 ·
Thanks, I'm happy with the results, it is not as fancy as some of the nice milled ones I've seen on here, but is not as big as it might look in the photos, although you wouldn't want to mount it on your helmet!

Think I'd like to try something different next, maybe something with optics rather than using a reflector?

#4 ·
Not too many optics choices for the P7. Mainly reflectors that I have come across.:madman: