mtbr member

Battery holder for a newbie?

I do a lot of 12v wiring but have never built my own battery packs so I'm a total newbie to this and hope to get some simple answers. I have a LED light that I'm trying to get dual use out of and was hoping to get some guidance on the best method/parts to build a battery pack.

The light is a Vision X Solstice Solo LED:

Solstice Solo - LED, HID, and Halogen Lighting | Off Road, Mining, Marine, Agriculture, Defense, Industrial, Commercial, Automotive,

10W
    0.75A draw @ 12v

The company mostly targets offroad vehicles, motorcycles, etc. I have this light on my campervan for exterior area lighting. Vision X sells a Li-Ion battery pack for this model but it is $130-150. Extremely pricey for only the few times that I would use it per season.

I don't need a long run time (1-2 hrs.) and have a charger that accepts AAs, Cs, Ds, etc. (both NiCad and NIMH). I was looking to run rechargeables or standard alkalines in a pinch (e.g. when touring or on a trip when its easier to just buy new batteries). I'm not sure if AAs or Cs would be the better choice (just dictates Ah, right?).

That being said, is there a recommended holder style? I'm searching and reading through the forum but wanted to get my question out there. Any advise, suggestions or links to threads I haven't found yet would be much appreciated!

Thanks!
    Ventana El Rey
    Felt F35
    Schwinn High Plains

Project - Surly Ogre

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    for clarity on what you're asking - are you looking for a cheap way to use this light as a bike light?

If so - helmet or bar mounted?

I can't find much info on the internals of the VisionX - since it isn't usually used as a bike light or flashlight, there don't appear to be a lot of "what's inside" kind of teardowns.