mtbr member

Aftermarket battery for Turbocat S32?

I'm no expert in the field of batteries or lights… I just want them bright & for my battery to give me a solid 3-4 hours before fading. Do any of you experts have any ideas without the need to modify the bulbs, etc… I was looking into a NiMh14.4v, 5000 mAh bottle battery from batteryspace, but I'm reading a lot of nasty things about their gear. Any thoughts?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by cozmomo
    I'm no expert in the field of batteries or lights… I just want them bright & for my battery to give me a solid 3-4 hours before fading. Do any of you experts have any ideas without the need to modify the bulbs, etc… I was looking into a NiMh14.4v, 5000 mAh bottle battery from batteryspace, but I'm reading a lot of nasty things about their gear. Any thoughts?
    My thoughts.....Stay with the 13.2 volt battery your system was designed for. Your bulbs are probably already over-volted using the standard battery. The 14.4 volt would make your lights brighter but you will use more bulbs and use them faster.

...thought number 2.....for the cost of the new battery/charger you could buy the MagicShine led light. Advantages....a nice bright light ( at least as bright as what you have now ), LED's last a very long time. The Magic Shine ( with it's 4 cell Li-ion battery ) should give you 3-3.5hrs run time on high. The battery will weigh a third of what that 2lb monster you are now using does.

thought number three....Spend another $20 and get the MagicShine. If you don't like it or want more output sell it to one of your Buds. So far I've not heard of anyone who has owned a halogen light who now owns a MS that doesn't just love the MS.

mtbr member
    Thanks. I've never actually heard of the magicshine lights until earlier today. I'm gonna give them a good look & see if I can try a pair out. For the price, they sound unbeatable.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by cozmomo