mtbr member
    Sep 2006

Stock Marzocchi MZ-3 on Kona Kikapu Deluxe

I'm relatively new to the sport after many years riding on the road and track. I just picked up a 2006 close out Kona Kikapu Deluxe and it came with a Marzocchi MZ-3 with 100mm travel. I can't tell if its the bike, the fork, or if its the lousy rider, but as a whole, the bike feels really spongy and squishy, and almost like its gonna fall apart on the front end. My other bike is a GT Zaskar with a 80mm Manitou. That feels a lot smoother and responsive than the Kona/ Marzocchi combo. Everything is tightened but still feels "loose" on the front end and/or fork. Checked the headset, stem, handlebars, skewer, spoke tension. From what I have read, this Marzoccchi model seems to be a extremely borderline fork but I've read good reviews about the company itself.

Questions are:
    1) Just how bad is the fork?
    2) Is it just a full suspension/ hardtail difference I am feeling?
    3) Any advice on how I can fix this?
    4) Any good options on a replacement fork if needed?

I would appreciate anyone's input on this and how to address it, no matter how simple it may seem. Thanks.

mtbr member
    Bought the same bike for my wife. I rode it around a bit and noticed the same things you have. I got a good deal on a Rock Shox Reba. It made night and day difference and she loves to ride it now. This fork is well suited for the frame, although I'm sure something from the Fox line in the 100mm range would also be good. The bad thing about the stock fork is that is really cheapish, using double coils with virtually no adjustments. It is also heavy. The Reba is very adjustable and delivers a very plush or stiff 100mm depending on how you want to set it up.

person