Thread: Kona Tanuki

mtbr member

Kona Tanuki

Hi all... My LBS deals Konas and I really dig them. I'm currently a road racer and looking to get into some mountain biking for the fall and winter months.

Just wondering what your thoughts are on this bike for someone new to mountain biking. I saw the Deluxe model sitting in the shop and fell in love with it. For what you get, the price seems very competitive as well.

Thoughts?

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    I'm somewhat new to mountain biking, so don't take my word as 100% correct. I've researching the Tanukis online for a few months, mostly the Supreme. (I figured if I'm going to take the plunge to a dual suspension I might as well go top of the line.)
    I went down to my LBS this week and spent about an hour or so asking their thoughts on the bike. The shop owner's wife just got one this week and they were all very impressed with it. I tried to get them to order me a supreme, but Kona is out of stock in my size.
    So now I'm now thinking about the deluxe. It still looks like pretty solid components for the cost. From what I gather, the only part of the deluxe that might be a bit of an issue is the rear shock. It's a cheaper Kona brand than what they offer on the supreme. Anyway, that's my rambling thoughts. I haven't had any actual experience with the bike, but most reviews I've seen are very positive.

mtbr member
    I have the Tanuki Deluxe and I absolutely love it. It is the most versatile mountain bike I have ever had. Definitely a jack of all trades type of bike. I have been riding cross country in Michigan with it and downhill in Oregon. I have loved it in every type of riding.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Just picked up a 2012 Tanuki Deluxe a few hours ago. Haven't had a real chance to get out and ride it yet, but it seems pretty awesome from the initial test rides.

mtbr member
    Sep 2012