mtbr member
    Oct 2013

Hey everybody. Noob here with taro question

So I'm looking to get back I to mountain biking again. A LBS in the area I'd clearing out all 2013 stuff for 35% off. So I really
    Like the taro spec wise and price wise. I can get it for $850. And it will work for what I want to do. I want a decent AM hardtail. My problem is they don't have one in my size. They have 18". Its just a little too small for me. And they say they can't get a larger size. I'm kinda a Clyde at 6'1" 230#. When I sat on it. The reach to the bars was too close. So my question after all my rambling is will a longer stem work for me? Im scared that I will need too long of a stem to really be comphy. But at $850 its a really good deal.

Do I get the bike or not?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    You'd have to actually ride it or another bike with similar cockpit set up to see how it would work out on the trail. $850 wouldn't be such a hot deal if it doesn't fit properly. For what it's worth, I'm 5' 9" and I'm on a small.

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    I just had a similar situation with a Honzo. I found such a screaming deal one that was ridden a couple times I had to take it. I'm 6'2" with long arms and got the XL. I probably should be on the large. A slightly long TT is easily remedied with a shorter stem in my case. In your situation, you'd have to lengthen the stem, which I don't think necessarily lends itself to this type of frame and geo. I would keep looking. Nows a good time to find a 2013.

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    OK, thanks guys. I will pass on the bike. There are a lot of bikes out there right now for cheap. I'll keep looking

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    That is a screaming deal, I just paid $1000 for one and I thought my deal was good!