mtbr member

2004 Kikapu Tire/Fork Question

I have a 2004 Kona Kikapu and I was wondering what size tire will fit on my "stock" wheels? I think it is 1.95 but I am not sure. I am interested in a good XC tire and I am looking at the Panaracer Fire XC. What size Fires will fit my bike? Thanks for the help!

Also, on the front "coil" shock, I was wondering if there was a chance that it could be "over" turned, ie, the tabs being turned down or up too much? I am fairly new to MTB and I was wondering what a good XC setup is as far as front and rear shock (fox coil).
    Do I want to turn the tabs all the way down, half way or not turn at all? Thanks for the help!!

mtbr member
    also, keeping within my bikes specs, what are some possibilities as far as a Fork Upgrade is concerned? I would like to eventually get a new Marzocchi or Fox Fork. What are some models that would be good XC forks for this XC bike?

Also, for Kikapu owners and others, what are some other upgrades that really make a difference? I am in the process of adding Time ATAC XS pedals and looking to get new tires...

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    You can use any width tire that will fit in the frame/fork. The Fire XC 2.1 is no problem. You should be able to go bigger if you want.

Be aware than all "2.1" tires (or any other width) are not the same width. Check my tire site for details.
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

mtbr member

Fork Upgrades

I also have a 2004 Kikapu. I just upgraded the fork to a Rock Shox Duke Race. It was definitely a good change. Being an air fork, it is much lighter than the spring fork that came on it. The fork also has lockout and more adjustments than I will ever use.