Thread: rear axle play

mtbr member
    Sep 2009

rear axle play

I have an Endo that I'm running 2012 Mavic Crossmax ST wheels on, and the rear wheel has a slight amount of play. I first noticed this when I held the top of the rear wheel and as the bike leaned to one side I thought I felt a slight wiggle. So I grabbed the seat and put my palm on top of the rear wheel and wiggled the wheel left to right to confirm there was some play felt. I pulled the rear wheel off to check for play in the hub. There was no play. I mounted the wheel again and made sure the axle was very snug but the play was still there. I pulled the wheel again and put the axle through the hub and checked fro the play again, I found the play was coming from the axle to hub adapter interface. I measure the axle and hub adapters using a digital caliper. The axle measured 11.93mm on one side and 11.91mm on the other. The hub adapters were 12.20mm for one side and 12.22mm on the other. This is my first time running a 142 x 12 axle some I'm not sure if this amount of play considered acceptable or not. I posted this in the wheel and tire forum too.
    Last edited by Goinslo; 07-22-2013 at 01:36 PM.

MC MasterShake
    No amount of play is acceptable in my book. If it is indeed the adaptor you can probably get away with riding it but play normally means something is loose and will end up getting much looser and possibly damaging things the more you ride it. I'd run it by your LBS and let them take a look at it. Play and creaks can be hard to troubleshoot and often take someone else to look at them to help. I'd also check all the suspension bolts and shock mount bolts. I have a couple on my Chilly that don't seem to stay tightened and need to get loc-tit'd.

Knomer
    I'm sending you a PM with my email address. Send me an email with your phone number. Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by Goinslo View Post