Crazy Alaskan MTBer

Would a KHS Alite 500 Work For AM?

It is labeled XC, so I know i'd probably be pushing it to it's limits, but I want to do some beginner AM this summer, but not much. Next year i'm planning on getting a dedicated AM bike, but for now i'd like to know if you guys think it would stand up OK to an occasional AM ride. I'm a real beginner, and would not be bombing down the mountain with any serious speed, or taking any uneccesary jumps. I haven't bought it yet, but plan to in a couple weeks when I have the money, so it's going to be a 2013 model. So, please, thoughts and opinions.

mtbr member
    Good luck with that. Sounds like you will be shortening the life of your new steed.

Crazy Alaskan MTBer
    I takevthat as a big, NO. Understood.

Crazy Alaskan MTBer
    my budget recently went up, would a KHS ALITE 1000 work for all mountain??

mtbr member
    Try posting this question on the "All Mountain" forum for a more informed answer. I question if the forks on either of these models is up to the task.

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    You'll be sweet IMO. It won't be ideal, but a season of not too extreme Am riding should be sweet. I started on a fully rigid Merida bike way back in the mid '90's, some of the trails I still ride and would be considered AM. That bike was nowhere near as competant as a modern AM rig is, but everything was ridable, and I enjoyed myself. I'd still rather ride that old bike then not ride at all.
    Otherwise look at buying something aimed more at AM riding.

mtbr member
    I ride my KHS Alite 4000 hardtail everywhere. I have never seen a "AM" trail here in Arizona. I just ride the trails I have the skill to ride and ride at a pace that is comfortable for me.

I don't believe AM is a trail, but a style of riding. A style where the emphasis is on descending either at speed or nasty terrain and climbs are there to just get to the descents.