17. You may not vote on this poll
  • Paker

8 47.06%
  • Xam

9 52.94%
    mtbr member
    Apr 2010

Parker or a Xam?

I've been researching buying a bike for a couple of weeks and I'm torn between a 2009 Parker and the 2008 Xam 1.0 on the Jenson website.

I have little experience with bikes I had a GT full suspension bike back in the late 90s but things have come a long way since then. I currently have a Giant Talon1 29er.

I'm done with the hard tail. I want to be able to be more aggressive on the down but there are not a lot of ski lifts in Arizona, so the all mountain bike seems like a good option.

Here's my question: I am not all that interested in dirt jumping or racing or free-ride or anything like that, just enjoying the downhill as much as possible. the Parker has 4" of travel in the rear, the Xam 6". Will I even notice the difference and is that difference worth $150? My sense is that more is not necessarily better here but I'm clueless as to how it works.

Another thing I wonder about: is the Parker going to be significantly more of a beatch to peddle up hill?

I know this is a noob question, thanks to anyone who takes the time to answer it.

slap happy
    i have a parker 1, and for the $1199 it's a great bike with decent components, but a bit on the heavy side. i haven't really ridden it yet (due to the weather) so i can't comment on handling.

the xam has better components on it, and i think is a bit lighter iirc. if you can afford the extra money, go with the xam imo.
    will you feel the difference in travel? unless you really bash on some gnarly turf, i doubt you'll even notice the difference.

fwiw, the parker is built like a friggin tank though.
    Consequences dictate our course of action and it doesn't matter what's right. It's only wrong if you get caught.

mtbr member