Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2006

New question here. Jamis XLT 1.0 Frame '05

I'm looking for a XC/all mountain frame for next season. I weigh in at 200lb. I have no experience with Jamis, will the
    Jamis XLT 1.0 Frame '05 do the job for me you think? I see Jenson is having a sale on this and another Jamis frame.

mtbr member
    Jan 2006
    Oh come on, if noone has any experience with this frame I will not know if 400 dollars is a good price. On the other hand, I haven't read any negative experiences with Jamis in general. If this is true for all of their frames I guess 400 is an ok price....

'aua e te fati
    Jul 2006

Be patient...

You didn't even wait a whole day for any replies. Chill out. There are plenty of people on this forum who would be happy to answer any of your questions, but it's not like they all check mtbr on their blackberries.

As far as the XLT goes, I would say that my situation is a pretty good comparison for you. I only have room for one bike (someday I will have many...perhaps an entire room devoted to bikes, but until then...) I am ~200lbs, and I ride an XLT for XC/AM, although I am more on the aggro XC side of the fence. I previously had a Jamis Dakar XC Expert (which besides the carbon stays, kinesium alloy and shock) is identical to the "other" Jamis you referred to on Jenson's website. It was a great bike, but with room for only one bike, I needed something that could handle any trail I was willing to point it down or up for that matter.

The XC has 90mm (a little over 3") of travel in the back, and is optimal with a 100mm (4") travel fork. It is great for XC.

The XLT has 130mm (5") in front and back and a slightly more slack headtube angle, giving it a more "choppered" look.