mtbr member
    Sep 2005

Jamis 2005 xlt 2.0 broken chainstay

The ole gal had been creaking somewhere in the suspension pivot's a few weeks ago…and after hearing about all the bearing failures Jamis bikes seem to have I decided to pick up a set of Enduro bearings. Much to my surprise after removing the main chainstay pin I found a rather large crack directly below the bearing on the chainstay. I did not touch the bearings prior to this…nor did I have a need to replace them after. After calling Jamis the following day and describing the damage I was notified that they would indeed warranty it. A quick call to the not so local LBS (only Jamis dealer within 100miles) and a few day later the new chainstay arrived…and the not so local…not so friendly LBS started giving me the run around. I myself had an issue with being forced to have the LBS install the chainstay when I can without certain guarantee I am a more competent mechanic than a great deal of the LBS's I've dealt with. Being charged $65/hr labor was not going to happen…especially not when I would have to remove the chainstay after they install it to replace the stock bearings with Enduro's. Not only did they not seem to have any of the part terminology down, but they were rude and I (as was my friend that tagged along) was largely ignored. Even when we were trying to find out information on re-facing the disc brake tabs were we ignored (and it was really not that busy mind you).

Anyway, a big thumbs up for the Jamis warranty department for their great response time and a big thumbs down for the Jamis dealer who I will never get any buisness from myself nor any friends/family.

Oh…and for those who are interested, I'm attaching the pic of the crack.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Nightriding rules SuperModerator
    bummer about the crank and lousy service from the LBS... thumbs up to Jamis for stepping up and getting you back on the trail

mtbr member