mtbr member
    Jun 2011

Help with sizing Dragon Sport 29er suggestions needed quick

I had my lbs order a Jamis Dragon 29er for me yesterday. Well, I paid for it, but they can't order until Tuesday. They suggested I get a 21 inch based on my height (almost 6'2) and my standover height, 33.5.

They did not have a Dragon in stock, so I rode to other bikes, a large Raleight talus and an XL Scott Scale 29. The Raleigh felt a little small, but the Scott felt huge, with too long a reach.

I do know that with the Dragon, the top tube will be "right there", with no room to spare. How important is that on a 29r.

Does anyone have any experience with the Dragon, and how does yours fit you? Do you have room to spare on the top tube?" How does it affect the ride?

I've been saving for a new bike for the last 6 months, and dont want to mess up and buy somthing I cant use.

Thanks
    Derek

mtbr member
    Dec 2006
    I ordered in 2009 a large Dragon 29er sight unseen and was surprised at what little stand over there was when the bike came in I have about a inch of clearance. I am 5' 11" and knock on wood have not racked myself yet I ride xc and some all mountain with it. The stand over for my bike is 825mm a 21" is 852mm about an inch more than mine can you find other bikes at your LBS that have a 852mm standover to see what it will be like? The Dragon29er is a awesome ride you are going to have a blast with it I think you will be fine with the standover issue

mtbr member
    Stand over is about the least important fit characteristic for any bike. I'm 5'9" with short legs, 29" inseam, and I ride a 17" Dragon 29er. The cockpit for a Dragon feels long so you shouldn't be swimming like you were in the XL Scott and it shouldn't feel small like it did in the Raleigh. If you do feel that it's a little long or little short see if they can swap the stem out for you. A 10mm longer or shorter stem can really help with the fit.