mtbr member
    May 2005

Warrior DS Limited

After researching off the forums, I recently decided to get the Warrior DS. Performance Bikes had a 20% coupon on an already 20% off sale price, which pushed me over the edge. The pre-shipping price was $768. I'm guessing this limited edition is a Performance Bike special? I haven't seen it offered anywhere else. It seems to rank slightly above the Warrior Pro. It has hydraulic brakes instead of mechanical, adjustable splice comp fork instead of splice elite, eggbeater pedals instead of wellgos, and a few other componentry differences.

I had wanted to step up to the hollowpoint and its dw-link. I had been researching that bike since the 2003 version, but had never wanted to shell out the dough.
    After reading several posts here about the minimal bobbing design on the 2005 warriors, i decided to go with this poor-man's single pivot heckler.

My old bike was a 1996 Proflex 856, which has served me well, but was definitely showing its age, as well as mine. with its three inch coil-over suspension, and quirky girvin linkage front fork, it wasn't up to the task of even 2 feet dropoffs. however, stock, it weighs 28lbs... something that can't be said about the warrior.

After assembling the bike, the 19" warrior came in at....35lbs.
    granted, the 2.4" tires are mad heavy.
    oh well, that's the price to pay for 5 inch plush suspension!
    I'm 5'10" - 150lbs and this bike is a good fit sitting still. I have yet to ride it, but took some pics of it shiny and new, replete with kick ass green paint job.

Last edited by perpetu8; 05-28-2005 at 01:43 PM.

mtbjk

sweet