mtbr member
    Apr 2009

So my Quantum has thinner tire in the rear?

Hey guys I am new to the forum. I just picked up a Quantum II today and I realized the rear tire is actually thinner than the front. So I asked the guy and he told me thats how they came and they did that on purpose for weight reduction. I am new to mountain biking so just want to see what you guys think? Any other reasons to put a thinner tire in the back? Thanks!

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    Many people run a thinner tire in the rear to reduce rolling resistance and weight. Most of the traction & handling benefit comes from the front tire. I ride a 2.25" tire on the front with a 2.1' on the rear.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    Thanks a lot! But thats on the Pro side. So what am I losing with thinning tire in the back? I've tried researching but couldnt find anything. Thanks!

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    You are not really losing much with the smaller tire in the rear. It's a slightly smaller contact patch so there are situations where you could have less traction, usually while climbing techncial sections, but only slightly. There could also be a slightly higher chance of a flat if the overall volume of the rear tire is less than a wider tire.

On the other hand, in many instances there might not be much clearance for a larger tire in the rear.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    Thanks for your help! I know whats going on now. Thanks!

SoCal Rider
    Apr 2008
    Just curious....what size tires did they put on your bike?

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    I think I have 2.10 in the front and 1.95 in the back. So the difference is .15
    ITS Ninja tires

Is that bad?

SoCal Rider
    Apr 2008
    The size difference is not bad at all, pretty common actually for trail riding. The ITS Ninja tires are pretty bad though. (what came on my Quantum II)