mtbr member
    Jul 2004

Seat post question

I have an '04 Hollowpoint sport that I have been riding for a few months. Yesterday, a buddy of mine pointed out that I don't have enough seat tube in the frame. Right now I have about 3.25" of tube in the frame. Does anyone know the Iron Horse specs for the amount of tube that is needed in the frame to not cause damage? Also does anyone know the dimensions of the stock seat post?

Thanks for your help.

Industry Loudmouth
    Quote Originally Posted by s0larnuke
    I have an '04 Hollowpoint sport that I have been riding for a few months. Yesterday, a buddy of mine pointed out that I don't have enough seat tube in the frame. Right now I have about 3.25" of tube in the frame. Does anyone know the Iron Horse specs for the amount of tube that is needed in the frame to not cause damage? Also does anyone know the dimensions of the stock seat post?
    You will want to go by the markings on the seatpost in regards to minimum post insertion. It will be stamped into the post on the bottom 1/3.

The stock post is 27.0 x 350mm. If you need a longer post my recommendation would be a Thomson.

-ska todd

hot arse Florida
    That's a good suggestion on the Thomson, but if you need a post with any set back, like I do, you will be very limited in options. I found that only Salsa and Race Face XY have some type of set back in the 27.0 size 410mm length.

On MTBR hiatus :(
    Quote Originally Posted by Karma
    That's a good suggestion on the Thomson, but if you need a post with any set back, like I do, you will be very limited in options. I found that only Salsa and Race Face XY have some type of set back in the 27.0 size 410mm length.
    Yeah, my Thomson is going up on ebay next week when my Salsa Shaft 410 comes in. The Salsa will give me 23mm of setback, and an Easton will give me up to 40mm of setback. Thomson doesn't make 400mm layback posts in the 27.0 size, and even if they did, they only provide for 16mm of setback.