mtbr member
    Jul 2007

Quantum vs Quantum II vs Yakuza Chimpira

Hello guys and gals. I'm really new to riding and wanted to ask some questions. My local sports authority is selling the IH Quantum for $299.99, and the IH Quantum for $449.99. Online I have found the IH Yakuza Chimpira for $399.99. Can you please tell me which one of these bikes is the best bang for the buck? I need a quick reply because I can't get my hands on the prices for the Quantum and Quantum II after tomorrow. Thanks again for the help.

On MTBR hiatus :(
    What kind of riding are you looking to do?

The Quantum is essentially a Maverick, built to spec for Sports Authority. You'll have to do a component-by-component comparison vs. bikes in the Maverick line to see where it falls.

The Chimpira is directed at the dirt jump crowd. I don't know if you're aware it's a singlespeed. It's not directly comparable to the Quantum / Maverick.
    speedub.nate
    MTBR Hiatus UFN

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    What does singlespeed mean and is that better or worse than the Quantum? Whats better the Quantum II or the Quantum I? I thought the Chimpira was 8x3 = 24speed.

My riding is going to be mostly city with the occasional rough trail.

JSUT HAVING A GOOD TIME!
    Jun 2007
    Check componets i have a quantum II 19.5 inch i love it just went to clipless plan on upgrading rims to some mavics and a new bottom bracket to a Truvativ Husselfelt...........
    my wife did suprise me with a 21.5 and the frame was actually bent so ride it and make sure the frame isnt bent how youll know if it is is look at the back tire and make sure its not crooked and also test the back tire and make sure it practilly falls out of the drop outs when you take it off cause if it doesn't jsut come right off the drop out could be bad or the frame is bent so MAKE SURE, but anyway i love mine its sweet
    Friends dont let friends ride JUNK!

Quote Originally Posted by faksnima