mtbr member
    Jan 2007

New question here. My price on new 2006 MK III Expert

Shop is asking $1800 for brand new stock bike. They are willing to swap saddles for one I prefer for free. They will swap the rear shock to a cloud 9 for 240(they keep original) and they will swap pedals to ATAC XS for 100 (they keep originals). I'm new to all of this but wanted to see if these numbers were off the wall or fair. What do you think?

Also the shop is going to throw in a shock pump for free and have the cloud 9 reworked at CC for the MK III for free.

Lastly , I thought I read somewhere in another thread that the 2006 rear triangle(?) was tool close to the chain line, Is this true? Any issues of the rear frame failing due to chain impacts or does a chain stay protector work in this case?
    Last edited by ecrock45; 01-20-2007 at 01:05 PM.

Black Lion
    Quote Originally Posted by ecrock45
    Shop is asking $1800 for brand new stock bike. They are willing to swap saddles for one I prefer for free. They will swap the rear shock to a cloud 9 for 240(they keep original) and they will swap pedals to ATAC XS for 100 (they keep originals). I'm new to all of this but wanted to see if these numbers were off the wall or fair. What do you think?

Also the shop is going to throw in a shock pump for free and have the cloud 9 reworked at CC for the MK III for free.

Lastly , I thought I read somewhere in another thread that the 2006 rear triangle(?) was tool close to the chain line, Is this true? Any issues of the rear frame failing due to chain impacts or does a chain stay protector work in this case?

As far as prices go, everthing looks good. 100 for the Atacs is a bit high. But the other stuff makes up for it especially the Cloud Nine deal and price.