I don't climb, I walk
    Nov 2009

Mkiii's running tubeless

I've got an entirely stock 08 MKiii Comp. DT Swiss X430 wheel set. My question is, is anyone running these tubeless? Is it even possible? For those who are running tubeless on a MKiii does anyone know how much weight they've saved? What type of performance gains have you seen? Thanks, Joe

Dropshot Champ!
    same bike, 5.1d wheels. Used the stans kit, and wtb tires. Picked heavy tires, so actually gained weight, but they've been bulletproof. The performance is well documented. Do it, you will love it.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    I've been running "ghetto" tubeless for two years now on a wide range of wheel & tire combinations and have not had any problems. I used ghetto tubeless on my MKIII for a year before going to a 6point. My MKIII had the AlexRims 24mm rims, I used nonUST tires and nonUST wheels and tubeless worked great.

I also convert friends tires to ghetto tubeless for a small fee and so I've come across many tire/rim combinations. My opinion (and there is some dispute about this) is that the key is to use the 20" bmx tube method and not just the rim strip. There will be many people who say "I use the rim strip and it works just fine, you don't need the bmw tube lining." The truth is every rim has a slightly different geometry and every tire has a slightly different shapped & textured bead, and it all depends on the combination of wheel and tire. To be safe, I always suggest using the 20" bmx method because then you have rubber-on-rubber making the seal on the rim instead of rubber on metal. UST tires will help if doing rubber on metal (ie. sealing riming strip instead of 20" bmx tube) because UST tires have an extra layer of smooth rubber on the bead so that they seal better against metal. But to be safe, use the 20" BMX tube method.