mtbr member

mk3 shock replacement help

mk3 shock replacement help-image.jpgmk3 shock replacement help-image.jpgI bought a used 2005 frame recently and just blew out the shock. i dont know what model it is or make. all stickers have been removed to identify it prior to my purchase.

Ill post some pictures this weekend.

it measures 7.75 eye to eye. the eyelets have a bearing installed rather than sleeves + spacers that i am used to. in my other bikes.

my budget is is a little thin at the moment but i would still like to put a decent shock back in.

rider: 220 lbs. I dont treat it gently or pick smooth lines.
    looking for durable & light
    air spring
    compression and rebound control dont care if it has lock out

Is a piggyback shock a better option?

any help is appreciated. Ive been riding the same bikes for the last 6-7 years and havent paid too much attention to upgrading parts. I have been very content with my other bikes until now, I dont know what is out there in terms of good options.
    1 hockey puck-$2
    1 mouthguard-$9
    8 missing teeth-$23K IOU from tooth fairy
    rattled brain forgetting impact-PRICELESS

mtbr member
    Can anyone verify the correct shock size for an 05 mk3 team. I have a spare rs. monarch laying around for one of my other bikes. Its 7.5 eye to eye. I assume it will work in function, but if it is an incorrect size how noticeable will the difference be?
    Last edited by laackund; 08-17-2013 at 07:59 AM. Reason: additional information
    1 hockey puck-$2
    1 mouthguard-$9

mtbr member
    Sep 2005