ntj
    guidedbybicycles

hollowpoint vs blur

Hey people,

I'm just new to mtbr forums, and pretty new to mountainbiking. I'm looking for a new trailbike that I can use for the occasional xc enduro race. I rode a friend's sc blur the other day and loved it, but I was wondering if anyone has had a chance to compare that bike to the hollowpoint team - crossmax xl, fsa carbon cranks and other awesome spec, it really caught my eye - or any hollowpoint for that matter. I live in Japan, and shops here don't usually let you do test rides, so any comments would be a huge help. Thanks.

mtbr member
    personally I'd get the IH if the price is right.

On MTBR hiatus :(
    Ignoring the build spec, the difference in suspension performance is what puts the Hollowpoint over the Blur.

The VPP and dw-link may appear to be similar, but they're not. VPP definitely has the bigger marketing campaign and name cache behind it, but it also comes with a few negative traits that the dw-link avoids. Plus, as "cool" as the Santa Cruz brand is, Iron Horse had superior customer service, web forum presence, and -- heck, you can actually talk to their suspension guru, Dave Weagle, and get a good feel for what he has attempted to accomplish with his design.

What you'll get with the dw-link is a lack of driveline forces influencing the suspension performance, and no noticable pedal kick when the suspension cycles. VPP, on the other hand, stiffens up under hard pedaling, and has a unmistakable kick under compression.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by ntj
    Hey people,