mtbr member

help buying a used bike.

so first of all, hello. I'm new to this whole mountain biking and am looking forward to get into it routinely. I wanted to start a while ago but didn't have the time.

my question is this: I saw a listing for a used iron horse. the owner said the chain slips occasionally and that a tire is flat. I'm assuming the tire isn't a problem. but the chain?

he wants $150, which is way doable for me at the moment. I just want a very entry level bike for light trails.

would this be a decent buy?

I've added the picture since I couldn't get an answer as far as model from the person selling it.

thanks in advance for any help.

meow.
    Last edited by iamunchien; 05-28-2012 at 06:22 PM.

Dropshot Champ!
    ...what iron horse is it? they made a bunch of different bikes

mtbr member
    May 2012
    It depends on the reason the chain is slipping. If it's slipping because the limit screws on the derailleur are a little off or the cable tension is off, all it would take would be a tune-up and it should be good to go. If the chain is slipping because the derailleur is bent or the cassette/freewheel is bent the solution could be much more expensive.

mtbr member
    @redmr2_man: i asked him for the model but he didn't reply to me.

@whyytee: hm. good info. would it be easy to check the derailleur or cassette to see if that's the issue?

complete noob here. i deeply apologize.

mtbr member
    May 2012