Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Another ironhorse mkiii frame cracks..

12K views 75 replies 13 participants last post by  KevinB 
#1 ·
08 comp here:

Sure does suck. I have alot of miles on it, about 14 months of ownership is all though. I ride generally xc singletrack about 3 times a week. No jump/drops over 2-3ft, and even those are a rarity. I weigh between 190-195lbs and I'm 6 foot 1.

Sucks, I'm a college student and can't afford an ibis or a turner. I loved this damn bike, that's the crappy part. The ibis looks like it matches the geo pretty damn perfectly though and is slightly cheaper than the turner. I might buy a rear triangle since repairing this in so many different spots is just asking for trouble. But a rear triangle is (as we all know) just a band-aid and it WILL break again.

Funny thing was that I had read all these threads and never thought it would happen to me. Just plain sucks. :(

See less See more
#5 · (Edited)
redmr2_man said:
hope pro2 thru bolt conversion kit, stock mkiii comp 10mm qr "thru bolt".
So it's a quick release mechanism utilizing a cam?

I've never used a 10mm quick release. Something I've noticed with standard QR mechanisms is that the cam is designed to get incrementally tighter as you push the lever "closed". But, at the last moment, just before full closure, the cam usually loosens up a little bit. I think they're designed this way to help prevent the QR from accidentally opening.

#6 ·
yeah qr with cam, but instead of the standard 5?mm, its the solid 10mm bolt. Always super tight, like using tire levers and my pump to try and leverage it open when I would flat.

I honestly don't think a rws would have helped. We can all hope, but look at all those cracks. 5? 6? there are alot!

#7 ·
redmr2_man said:
yeah qr with cam, but instead of the standard 5?mm, its the solid 10mm bolt. Always super tight, like using tire levers and my pump to try and leverage it open when I would flat.