Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Riding a Rig.

Shimano Alfine Problems [Roller Clutch Slipping?]

Hey guys. I've been using an Alfine hub for about 4 months... Recently I've been having some issues. Under heavy loads I'm sometimes getting a slipping in the drivetrain accompanied by a popping/skipping noise.

The sound is exactly like what I've heard before when a chain tried to jump... So I Initially thought thats what it was... However, I've swapped the chain and improved the chainline without much change in the problem. This leads me to believe that the roller clutch is slipping under load.

I've done some research and haven't been able to find any other reports of the alfine's clutch slipping.

Any ideas on what to do at this point?
    "Physics is timeless. Marketing and bs never lasts. Thats been proven time and time again."
    -Dave Weagle

dru
    mtbr member
    Sep 2006
    wow, don't know. I've got 3 months on mine, maybe I'm next!

Drew
    occasional cyclist

Riding a Rig.
    Interesting.

Quote Originally Posted by Dan Burkhart
    I have had 2 Alfine hubs that had to be sent to Shimano because of slippage or skipping in the higher gears (5 through 8). They told me it
    was because a circlip had not been properly installed.
    http://groups.google.com/group/rec.b...3b07319e?pli=1

Sounds exactly like the problem I am having. Sounds like it might warrant a teardown to check it out.
    "Physics is timeless. Marketing and bs never lasts. Thats been proven time and time again."
    -Dave Weagle

Frt Range, CO
    Quote Originally Posted by Vulcan
    ...Sounds exactly like the problem I am having. Sounds like it might warrant a teardown to check it out.
    Date of those posts are October 2007, the Alfine's in question would have been 500 versions. Is your hub a 500 or 501 version?