mtbr member

Rohloff Setup Question

Hello. I am new to the world of Rohloff, but as a wheel builder I was able to land one for next to nothing. I have the 500/14 disc model, and I have a Rohloff specific drop-bar 29er that I would like to use it on. The frame has the Rohloff Paragon sliders.

Here is my question, the Rohloff came from a different frame with cable routing out the top and the large torque arm to the chainstay, similar to this picture:

Based on my cable routing, I would like to run the Speedhub like in this picture:

What is the part that I need to add, I call it an anti-torque nub, to be housed inside of my dropout? What else do I need to do to switch from the top cable routing to the bottom cable routing?

Thank you for your help.

JAH

mtbr member
    Well, I looks like I need the OEM axle plate and not the OEM 2 axle plate. Any idea why the OEM version is not available through the big two US distributors (QBP or BTI)? Both show only the OEM 2 option.

Hmmm...

mtbr member
    Apr 2006
    Use the OEM 2 plate. Use one of the ears on the brake caliper to pick up the torque. You may have to file the slot in the plate deeper, or change the shape. Here's a picture of my setup. I can take a better picture if you need it. ML shifter box.jpg

mtbr member
    If you have long dropouts, use the OEM system (like the ti bike... is that a Dean it looks similar to mine). Simpler and easier to get the wheel on. Also some bikes need modification to use OEM2.

If you don't have long dropouts, use the OEM2 system. Look at using a speed bone instead of a brake bolt. I read other posters saying that using a brake bolt isn't a good idea but I haven't seen Rolhoff officially warn against it.

mtbr member

Brake Bolt Mounting

Quote Originally Posted by scuppy
    If you have long dropouts, use the OEM system (like the ti bike... is that a Dean it looks similar to mine). Simpler and easier to get the wheel on. Also some bikes need modification to use OEM2.