mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Redline monocog with Alfine or other IGH?

Can this be done.. I have no experience but thought it would be a good idea.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by 1971tch View Post
    Any MTB can get an IGH installed.

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...U1jvxQ39g_owRQ
    Safe riding,

Vik
    www.vikapproved.com

Most Delicious
    Quote Originally Posted by 1971tch View Post
    Just be wary of the rear spacing. Early Monocogs used 110mm rear spacing, which would make running a 135mm rear hub like the Alfine difficult.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    Here's mine, works great...Excpet I find the drop a little soft and the serated teeth of the Non-turn washers have gouged a few grooves down the drop outs.

I have also found 32-20 to be a little highly geared. My LBS had an old Sturmey Archer of BMX cog that I have found great. It get's gear ratio right down.

I would also hunt down the MKS track bike chain tugs just to stop things slipping, however this isn't mandatory.

The Alfine is almost as tuff as the frame. I also believe the drop-out/track end style is perfect for the non-turn washers on the Alfine. I have found the Alfine problematic in my Singular Swift frame and a Voodoo Dambala i had. The Monocog is straight forward.

The bike and the hub can stand high temperatures (the last photo was taken about 3:00pm on a 38-40 degrees celcius day). In fact the high temperature seem to let the hub spin really well, but there is often an oily weeping from the cones and other seals. Nothing really.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Redline monocog with Alfine or other IGH?-img_0715.jpg  

Redline monocog with Alfine or other IGH?-img_1343.jpg  

Redline monocog with Alfine or other IGH?-img_1357.jpg  

Redline monocog with Alfine or other IGH?-pc220130.jpg  

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by jmpg View Post