Thread: QR for Alfine?

mtbr member
    Jun 2009

QR for Alfine?

I'm new to IGH in general & in doing some online research to find out what a "Monkey Bone" was came across a UK thread mentioning a neat QR system designed by Whyte called "Big Gripper". I know this is probably a long shot, but does anyone have any experience with it?

Rohloff
    Quote Originally Posted by Sometimes
    I'm new to IGH in general & in doing some online research to find out what a "Monkey Bone" was came across a UK thread mentioning a neat QR system designed by Whyte called "Big Gripper". I know this is probably a long shot, but does anyone have any experience with it?
    The Big Gripper is a 20mm through axel quick release system for the rear wheel. The Alfine is not 20mm. This will not work on the Alfine. I'm not aware of any QR for the Alfine, but it's really not a big deal. I just use one of these:

https://shop.sunrisecyclery.com/item/14310/

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    Here's someone in the UK who's done so fairly recently. Go down to "ade ward"s post near the bottom of the thread.

As for wrenches, I had in mind this:

http://aebike.com/page.cfm?action=de...=30&SKU=TL8349

or preferably this:

http://www.nashbar.com/bikes/Product...:referralID=NA

Rohloff
    Here's someone in the UK who's done so fairly recently. Go down to "ade ward"s post near the bottom of the thread.
    He reports getting it to work after messing around with it. Maybe there's some 20mm TA type bolt that fits on the treads or he rigged something else up. I don't know. The Big Gripper is interesting but seems like a non-standard solution to very minor issue. I remember not liking the idea of the Alfine being bolt on, but now that I have it, I kind of like it. Other than having a very thin wrench in my pack, it's pretty much a non-issue.

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    From my understanding there's a "bobbin" that can be retrofitted to any standard diameter axle, whether solid or QR.

vik
    mtbr member