_CJ
    mtbr member
    May 2014

New build - Alfine / belt / 26er

First post here....hoping to find some help on this project.

I've been riding mountain bikes since about 1990, and after going through most bike designs and materials, decided I just wanted a simple, minimalist bike. Ended up finding an old steel 26" frame, and built it up with a rigid fork, V-brakes, and 1x8 gears in 2008. It's been a great bike, and it's all I ride anymore, but I've always been curious about IGH and belt drive. With my 44th birthday closing in next week, I decided it's now or never.

Yesterday I bought a 2000 Ionic Dean Johnny Rotten (pictured below), and plan to install a frame splitter, belt drive, and IGH. I'm handy with mechanical stuff, welding, and machine work, so the splitter is no big deal. Decided to stick with 26 because it's always worked well for me and I have a decent stash of back-up parts centered around that wheel size. V-brakes for the minimalism thing, and they work well enough for me.

The build:
    -Steel 26 frame w/horizontal dropouts
    -Rigid steel fork
    -V-brakes
    -Carbon bars
    -Carbon post
    -Brooks saddle
    -Alfine 8
    -Gates belt drive

My main concern here is the Alfine 8. I've got some people telling me there's now way it will hold up, but then I'm reading on-line about lots of people riding them and loving them. From what I can gather, the failures are mostly a result of going too low with the primary gears. My current 1x8 has 32 front and 11-32 rear, so a 1:1 low gear is all I really need. Looking at the Alfine ratios, a 39x22 or 39x24 belt drive should get me close to 1:1 in low gear.

As for my riding style....I live at the base of the mountains in Colorado. Typically put on about 2000 miles a year, 95% dirt, 50% single-track. Average ride being twenty miles with 1500 feet of climbing.

Am I on the right track? Gearing look right? Should I cut and run before it's too late?

Name:  $_12.JPG
Views: 488
Size:  25.2 KB

mtbr member