mtbr member

Magura Rohloff-Speedhub Storm Rotor with Avid or Shimano Calipper

Hy guys

I am been in MTB scene about 25+ yeras, I have own many bicycles during this period of time but never one with IGH.
    Here in Venezuela there is not IGH culture at all and the braves who dare to use them are ussualy banned .
    So despite all my bicycling years I am a newbie on IGH, I am planning a build using one of my existing frames (Surly Karate Monkey, Soul Cycle Dillinger V.4 or 650b Russ Denny) since this going to be ANOTHER BIKE in the wife's words, the budget is tigth so I going to use my parts bin as primary resource.
    First quiestion is the disk rotor attached to my 500/14 Speedhub is a Magura Storm 180mm but I have a few sets of Avid and Shimano brakes no Magura, can I use this mix or I have to get a new rotor
    Second question anybody runs a Karate monkey+speedhub 514 combo
    Thanks in advance
    In my workshop, dirty hands is a state of mind

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Midle Age Warrior View Post
    First quiestion is the disk rotor attached to my 500/14 Speedhub is a Magura Storm 180mm but I have a few sets of Avid and Shimano brakes no Magura, can I use this mix or I have to get a new rotor
    Yes you can use that rotor with Avid or Shimano brakes as long as you have a 180mm adapter.

The only hang up will be that some Surly frames don't like big rotors in the rear. It will depend on your frame and the brake caliper design so I would just try it and see what happens.

I've got a Roloff in Surly Krampus. The dropouts look the same or very similar to a KM.
    Safe riding,

Vik
    www.vikapproved.com

mtbr member
    Vikb thanks for the info that is what I thougth but if better to be sure about the rotor.
    What kind of OEM plate are you using since as you said the rear dropout looks the same for the Krampus and teh Karate monkey.